Feel like your car is in need of a bit of a facelift?
Have you always loved the intensity of a huge, powerful engine?
Interested in modifying your classic car to give it a more modern twist?
Before you make any changes, you need to familiarize yourself with California car modification laws. You don’t want to risk a hefty fine on top of all the work you’ve already put into upgrading your car.
Read on to get a better understanding of California modified car laws.
1. If You Own a Classic Car
If you love everything about collecting and showing off antique/classic cars, you may already have some knowledge of California car modification laws.
First of all, if the car was made in 1976 or earlier, you’ll need to undergo a Smog Check. Click here to get more information from the California DMV regarding these checks, and to see if your car is exempt.
You’ll also need to have the brakes and lights adjusted and inspected, and provide proof of these inspections. You will also need to fill out both an application for title/registration and a statement of construction form.
2. Sound Regulations
California car laws state that your sound system can’t be heard from 50 feet away while you’re driving on the highway.
If you modify your muffler or exhaust system, these modifications can’t result in louder sounds than those normally made within a factory. Cars that weigh less than 6,000 pounds can’t make over 95 decibels of sound.
3. Height of Frame and Suspension
Illegal car mods in California include cars that are over 14 feet high and a total body lift of over 5 inches.
If your car weighs under 4,500 pounds, your frame cannot be more than 27 inches high.
However, if you suspect you’ve been sold a faulty car and want to adjust the suspension to fix things, investigate your rights under California Lemon Law before making any changes.
4. Window Tinting and Lighting
There are strict laws in California regarding window tinting. On your front windshield, you can only use non-reflective tint on the top four inches of the glass.
However, you can have any level of tinting on your rear and back side windows.
Windows on the front sides of your car must allow at least 70% of light through to the interior.
Your car can have just 2 fog lamps, and a maximum of two spotlights. These spotlights can only show light up to 300 feet from the vehicle.
Strictly Follow California Car Modification Laws
If you still have questions about California car modification laws, we suggest that contact the DMV or even the car dealership where you purchased your vehicle directly.
Interested in selling new or used cars yourself? Curious about what it takes to become a car collector? Need to know what to look for in legal representation if you’ve been in a car accident?
Our blog has the answers that everyday drivers and car aficionados need, so keeping checking back in with us to make sure you’re always in the know.